Happy Birthday Whisky Charlie Foxtrot

My second novel Whisky Charlie Foxtrot is one year old today. Yes, this time last year we were drinking whisky (of course) at the wonderful Crow Books to celebrate its release into the wild.

                         

To celebrate the anniversary I’d like to thank all the people who’ve been great supporters in the first year of its life, including book clubs, libraries, bookshops, bloggers, all those who follow me on social media and every reader who’s taken the time to share with me in any way shape or form, what the book has meant to them.

Book Clubs

It means so much to me that someone likes my book enough to choose to share it with their book club, and invites me along to share the discussion (and the cake!) I’ve had the pleasure of visiting fifteen book clubs this year and it’s really a memorable experience to hear readers’ responses to my book face-to-face. A special shout out to Louise and Jeff who loved my book so much that they chose it for not just one but BOTH of the book clubs they’re part of, and invited me along to join in the fun. Ah, you guys warm the cockles of my heart.

Beaufort Street Bookshop

Jane, Geraldine, Brooke and all the team at Beaufort Street Books have been amazingly supportive of Whisky Charlie Foxtrot. They hosted an evening for their customers in which I chatted about the book and signed copies and even provided triple cream brie! They always keep a stack of copies on hand, sometimes displayed on their front table with ‘staff picks’ stickers and recommend the book to their customers. I heart Beaufort Street Books!

Blog Followers

I’m hugely grateful to all the people who read and comment on my blog. Sometimes when you write a blog, it can feel like only your mum is reading it, but when people take the time to comment, it makes me feel like people are interested in what I have to say and encourages me to keep blogging. I’d like to make particular mention of Steve, for being such a loyal follower and commenting on the blog in the early days when no one else was. Thanks Steve! Thanks also to all the people who follow me on Facebook and like, share or comment on my posts – you guys rock! 

Reviewers

I’d like to thank all the bloggers who’ve reviewed Whisky Charlie Foxtrot, including Emily PaullKristen LevitzkeLouise Allan and Rashida Murphy. I’m especially grateful to Lisa Hill of ANZ Lit Lovers who included WCF on her list of favourite books of 2012; given that she read 167 books last year, that is quite a prestigious list to appear on! I’d also like to thank those readers who’ve taken the time to leave a review for me on Goodreads or Amazon – I really do appreciate it. If you enjoyed WCF and haven’t yet left a review, I’d love it if you’d take a few minutes to pop over to Amazon or Goodreads and add your voice to the chorus.

Libraries

Nine libraries, including regional libraries in Albany, Denmark, Dunsborough and Margaret River have been generous enough to host Meet the Author events for me to share with their members the story behind Whisky Charlie Foxtrot. Libraries are such an amazing community resource.

It’s been a lovely birthday gift to have WCF shortlisted for the Small Press Network’s Most Underrated Book Award (MUBA). I hope you’ll join me in wishing Whisky Charlie Foxtrot many happy returns!

Leave a Reply

